An Apology

After posting my last campus visit recap from the CICV college tours yesterday, I received an email through my web site.  The sender pointed out to me (in well-reasoned terms) that the details of my visit to Virginia Intermont College perhaps painted too rosy a picture of a campus that faces severe challenges at present and that my seeming endorsement of the school might cause a student to disregard these challenges based on my word.  I was not able to thank the sender in a private manner for sharing these thoughts, as the email address included in the web form was undeliverable.  Still, my thanks for the message are perhaps better aired in this public forum so that I can share my thoughts with all readers instead of just one.

As you can imagine, the last thing I want to do with this blog is to mislead anyone and if that has occurred, I apologize.  I have updated yesterday’s posting to paint a more realistic picture of the school’s situation while maintaining those parts of the blog that refer specifically to what was shared with the counselors present at the visit.  All impressions of campuses that are shared in this forum are, of course, my own, but this blog is not intended to be a Zagat review of college campuses.  Every campus is a fit for some students but not for others – which is why I conclude each posting with a question:  “Could XYZ School be a fit for you?”  I then invite you to contact me so we can examine your preferences and goals and find out what school offers the environment you seek.

Finally, thanks to the permanence of the Internet and all things housed on it, any and all postings on this blog are but a shapshot of the time at which they were posted; what was true in a blog posting from July of 2012 may well be entirely different today and so forth.  The posting regarding my visit to VIC represents what I know to be true based on my recent visit and no more.  By the time the posting that you’re reading now has reached you via social media or my web site, the situation could already be dramatically different.

As part of my due diligence as an educational professional, I can assure you that I will continue to monitor VIC in the coming months.  If you are an interested student, I likewise encourage you to do the same, much as I encourage you to thoroughly investigate any and all colleges and universities that you think offer the education you seek.

I apologize for my error in glossing over a serious issue yesterday; it was never my intention to mislead readers or misrepresent facts.  I endeavor in my educational practice to advise students to the best of my knowledge and experience every day and will continue to do so for many years to come.  Thank you to the reader who sent the email (my apologies that I wasn’t able to respond to you via an email of my own) and for the time and concern that you showed.

As always, readers, your thoughts and questions are always welcomed if you’d like to contact me.

2 thoughts on “An Apology

  1. I always enjoy reading your blog posts. I never take your ‘reviews’ of the campuses to be endorsements, but what you have seen and learned on campus. I feel more informed about a college after reading your posts. Thanks for writing them and I look forward to reading your next post.

Leave a Reply

